Twelve Tribes of Israel

About 4000 years ago, a man named Jacob (God changed his name to "Israel") had 12 sons who later became the ancestors of the Tribes of Israel. At different times, for various reasons, the Bible will list the 12 Tribes of Israel but will exclude two of Jacob's sons and replace them with two sons of Joseph.

(The sons of Leah)
•  Reuben
•  Simeon
•  Levi
•  Judah
•  Issachar
•  Zebulun

(The sons of Leah's maidservant Zilpah)
•  Gad
• Asher

(The sons of Rachel)
•  Joseph
      •  Ephraim (son of Joseph)
      •  Manasseh (son of Joseph)
•  Benjamin

(The sons of Rachel's maidservant Bilhah)
•  Dan
•  Naphtali